Great Season For Resolven Cricket Club

The 2017 season  proved to be the most successful in the club’s cricket history winning the West Wales Cricket Association Division 2 title and promotion to Division 1.

The squad captained by the inspirational Adrian Lock only suffered two league defeats and was a tremendous squad effort with 21 players used throughout the season.

Forest Exiles from Gloucestershire returned for their second tour visit to Resolven in August. Resolven won a great match with two overs remaining, Ceri Evans scoring the winning run with an excellant shot through the covers and quick running between the wicket with fellow batsman David Williams. Mathew Evans had another fine innings scoring 61 out of a total of 147 runs.

Resolven RFCC v Forest Exiles (Gloucestershire) 27th August 2017
Resolven Players in photo

Back Row  1st Left Tony Evans.. 2nd Left Ceri Evans.. 3rd Left Lewis Ridge.. 4th Left Richard Williams 5th Left Mathew Evans 6th Left Adrian Lock..9th Left Darren Davies… 14th Left Richard Powell 15thLeft Andrew Evans.. 18th Left Graham Harris

Front Row – 1st Left Oscar… 2nd Left David Williams.. 6th Left Garwyn Ridge

2017 Season Statistics
Best Bowling Performance

Tony Evans – Swansea (Home) Overs 10 Maidens 3 Runs 19 Wickets 5
Richard Williams – Llangennech (Away) Overs 9 Maidens 2 Runs 14 Wickets 5
Lewis Ridge – Ynysygerwyn (Home) Overs 1.2 Maidens 0 Runs 2 Wickets 4

Best Batting Performance

Mathew Evans – Forest Exiles (Home) 61runs
Luke Scully – Swansea (Home) 56 runs
Mathew Evans – Swansea Civil Service (Away) 40 runs

Best Batting Partnerships

David Williams/Mathew Evans – Swansea Civil Sevice (Away) 73 runs
Luke Scully/Richard Williams – Swansea (Home) 59 runs
Adrian Lock/David Williams – Llangennech (Away) 51 runs
Andrew Evans/Mathew Evans – Forest Exiles (Home) 45 runs
Paul Jones/Ioan Jones – Llanfrynach (Home) 43 runs

Resolven RFCC v Gorseinon CC

Back Row

Lewis Ridge   Andrew Evans   Richard Williams Ioan Jones Paul Jones Luke Scully Ceri Evans

Front Row

Tony Evans Adrian Lock (Captain) David Williams Mathew Evans

Resolven Cricket Ground New Scoreboard

14th May 2016

Constructed by Ian Griffiths and Penny

Report by Richard Williams